Move of the Week – Échappé – A Ballet Jump to Strengthen Your Legs!

Watch the 20-second video below to follow along with pro dancer and Ballet Spot instructor Jennifer, as she guides you through the basics of an échappé, a fun and challenging ballet jump that is great for leg strength. Repeat several times in a row for a cardio and muscular endurance challenge!

Echappé is a jump in ballet, where you open and close your legs. It’s an excellent basic ballet step to build leg strength and increase endurance. You don’t need any prior dance experience to work on this step. Learn the basics in this quick and concise tutorial taught by pro dancer and Ballet Spot instructor, Jennifer.

Echappé is used a whole lot in classical and contemporary ballet, and there are many different versions – échappé to 5th, échappé to 4th, échappé entournant, échappé battu….. and many more! Start with this basic échappé from 1st to 2nd and back to 1st, and add in challenges when you feel ready. Remember, even professional ballerinas practice ballet technique everyday, so be patient with yourself and acknowledge any small improvement you feel and notice!

And then join Jennifer for Beginner Ballet on Mondays at 6:30pm ET / 3:30pm PT or Cardio Ballet on Saturdays at 11:00am ET / 8:00am PT to put your legs to work 🙂

Share
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

More Blog Posts

Receive Updates
from The Ballet Spot

We typically respond within 24-28 hours. For faster responses to your inquiry, please call during business hours.

Receive Updates from The Ballet Spot